maybe I’ll end my boycott of hollywood . . .

Tim Blair and Mad Minerva both covered Andrew Klavan’s oped in the WaPo, Why Are We Whispering?

Conservative artists can’t battle this state of affairs with silence or secrecy. They must create — with courage, openness and honesty. These are the tools of both conservatism and art. With them, we can take the culture back.

I’ve been envious of Mad Minerva’s cinema adventures, but not enough to actually step into a theater. The overwhelming leftist sermonizing of Hollywood has turned my stomach enough that I can’t bear the thought of giving them any of my money. I even view recently-made, neutral, entertainment-focused films as simply a way of recouping losses from their spate of BDS-driven flops. I know, that’s going a bit far, maybe. But it’s how I feel, and entertainment is pretty much all about how one feels, isn’t it? Even if there’s a great film showing, if one has a bad feeling about it, why go? (Movies seen for non-entertainment reasons, of course, don’t fall under this line of reasoning.)

But, if Klavan and others are stepping out and changing the climate of Hollywood, maybe it’s time for me to go see a movie. And really, what I want isn’t “rightist” films per se, but real diversity in entertainment, a real choice about what I see and what, if any, lessons are delivered in my entertainment.

And this leads me to another topic, which is, why do I blog anonymously? I’ll admit, I’m in training for a career in academia, which is dominated by leftists, and I’m simply afraid putting my real name to my opinions will ruin my career before it gets off the ground. Am I practicing cowardice, or prudence?

10 comments so far

  1. Mad Minerva on

    Well, I blog anonymously too, and I’ve also been thinking about the cowardice-or-prudence angle. I really think that young academics are at a disadvantage—certainly grad students who don’t need to give any hostile Nerd Lords more reason to be hostile.

    Still, oddly enough or not, I find that being “politically ambiguous” gives me room to talk — in a sense that being a known non-liberal would not. People currently will listen to my comments, but I’m pretty sure that if they knew I wasn’t a leftist, they’d automatically write off my words as partisan hackery. I hope I’m wrong, but…

  2. lumpenscholar on

    People blog anonymously for various reasons, including many lefty bloggers, so I’m not talking about anyone but myself.

    You’re right about political ambiguity. On the other hand, last year, after making a number of lefty friends, I decided not to beat around the Bush anymore and gave my real opinions when topics like Iraq came up. I had some great discussions, and every one I’ve done this with is still a friend. (I haven’t done this around people I don’t know, however.)

    On the third hand (Zaphod, we’re looking at you), I’m interested in academic areas where I think making my political views known would be a serious liability.

    What to do? My strategery right now is to get my Ph.D., get a job, and then open up. It may affect tenure, but tenure is another 5-7 year haul, and that’s too long to stay silent.

  3. Mad Minerva on

    You should have seen the looks on people’s faces when I told some fellow grad students (in the middle of their all-Dem, all-liberal, all-the-time conversation) that I was an “independent.” They looked at me as though I were an alien — but a quasi-benign alien because apparently “independent” is exotic but not evil like those wicked Rethuglicans. Still, compared to the majority of campus residents, I’m a reactionary right wing nutjob.

    Anyhoo, other underground non-liberals and I have found each other. The plan is basically your plan: keep your head down, don’t attract negative attention, focus on your work, don’t get distracted, and GET THAT PHD and job. Then we’ll all have a leg to stand on.

  4. Mad Minerva on

    PS: apparently Nerdworld residents like to think of “independent” as “liberal lite.”

  5. lumpenscholar on

    My favorite reaction has been someone staring at me, mouth agape, speechless.

    Yeah, “exotic,” that seems to be the best description for how I’m seen amongst lefty friends in the know.

    Gotta catch a bus!

  6. Mad Minerva on

    Try this one on for size. A while back there was actually a conservative consortium on campus in the foreign policy department. Frank Gaffney and others came to speak, and it was on a Saturday, so I went.

    I saw a classmate there, and it was the weirdest moment when we made eye contact across the auditorium. We both looked like deer in headlights when we realized that we were fellow subversives! The small talk we had was a little embarrassed and awkward, and there was an unspoken agreement that we were never going to talk about this to any of our other classmates, ever. 😉

  7. lumpenscholar on

    Isn’t it odd that we’re like this? Is this what communists felt like back in the old days? Or maybe atheists? I was very pleased to read the article you posted about noting that the next generation of academics probably won’t be nearly as politicized.

    I think that a lot of professors don’t care about students’ politics. There are a few who do, of course, but a lot of the one’s who would penalize a student for conservative views seem to be concentrated in certain areas. From that standpoint, it makes more sense to come out and be open about things.

    However, I think professors are much more picky about who they work with. A student with conservative views isn’t a threat and doesn’t have any power. A fellow professor with tenure who has conservative views might be a threat with power. So I think getting a Ph.D. while being an open conservative might be fine, but getting a job afterwards, especially a tenure track position, might be very difficult. Mark Moyar is a good example, I think.

  8. mj on

    I’m glad you guys have “met”, at least online. You’re in physical proximity anyway 😀

  9. Mad Minerva on

    Metrolingua! Dear girl, fancy seeing you here!

  10. lumpenscholar on

    Matcha latte, anyone? (Sets tray on table.)


Leave a Reply

